The Winners - latest edition query

The place to recommend books to other Forum users. Or even to warn off.
Post Reply
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 6:57 pm

The Winners - latest edition query

Post by standman » Wed Apr 29, 2009 7:36 pm

Does the latest edition of the Winners have the Renfrewshire Cup winners correct now ?

The first edition has no competion for a few seasons from 91.

In fact the only year it wasn't competed for in the 90's was 1994.

I can't remember if I wrote in at the time when I discovered this !

I certainly wroteto St Mirren , who being fair, corrected it in their match programme.

As did Morton !

It's funny, when I read each year in the press about how many teams the teams have won it, it's down to me writing in to St Mirren and the guy on the St Mirren history site to get it correct in the first place !

Posts: 1060
Joined: Sun Oct 16, 2005 12:48 pm

Post by BMCCOLL » Thu Apr 30, 2009 11:14 am

The book lists the following...

1991-1995 no competition
1995-96 Morton
1996-97 Morton
1997-98 St Mirren
1998-99 St Mirren
1999-2003 no competition
2003-04 Morton
2004-05 Morton
2005-06 Morton
2006-07 St Mirren
2007-08 St Mirren

Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 6:57 pm

Post by standman » Thu Apr 30, 2009 1:28 pm

Thanks for the reply.

I'll maybe need to e-mail the author.

1991 was the year Bellaire beat St Mirren in the semi, with Morton winning the final. St Mirren then withdrew for a few years, as did Morton in the late 90's/early 00's however the tournament continued.

It should read

90-1991 MORTON
91-1992 MORTON
92-1993 MORTON
93-1994 Not played
94-1995 MORTON
95-1996 MORTON
96-1997 MORTON
97-1998 ST MIRREN
98-1999 ST MIRREN
99-2000 ST MIRREN
00-2001 ST MIRREN
01-2002 ST MIRREN
02-2003 MORTON
03-2004 MORTON
04-2005 MORTON
05-2006 ST MIRREN
06-2007 ST MIRREN
07-2008 ST MIRREN

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests